Societal Responses to Mental Illness Versus Physical Illness

Take a Ride on My Mood Swing

***Disclaimer**** This post is in no way mocking ANY illness, physical or mental. It is simply a demonstration in how differently mental illness is responded to as opposed to physical illness.
Panic attacks
“Traffic makes me freak out so I avoid crowded roads.”
“Well, that’s just avoidance behavior. You’re not facing your fear.”

The physical comparison.

“I ate spicy food again and now my stomach is on fire.”
“Well, if you know it’s going to hurt you, why do it?”

Mood Swings
“I thought I could work my way through it without getting emotional but I was wrong.”
“You’re just not trying hard enough, you WANT to be in a bad mood so you have an excuse to overreact.”

The physical Comparison.
“I was up all night vomiting, but I think I’m better to do, I can do this.”
“Oh, no, no, you might still be contagious. Or you could…

View original post 663 more words

Leave a Reply

